US Wrestling Scene News

WWE Spoilers: Current Champions As Of January 15, 2009

With a new ECW Champion crowned on this week’s edition of ECW on Sci-Fi (the first title change of 2009, by the way), here is the current champions in the WWE:


World Heavyweight Champion: John Cena (1st Reign)

Defeated: Chris Jericho at Survivor Series 2008 (11/23/08)

Title Defenses: Chris Jericho (Pinfall Win), 

Next Title Defense: Against JBL (with Shawn Michaels in his corner) at the Royal Rumble (1/25/09)


Intercontinental Champion: William Regal (2nd Reign)

Defeated: Santino Marella on 11/10/08’s RAW

Title Defenses: CM Punk (2x; DQ Loss & DQ Win),

Next Title Defense: Against CM Punk in a No DQ Match on 1/19/09’s RAW


Women’s Champion: Beth Phoenix (2nd Reign)

Defeated: Kofi Kingston & Mickie James (c) in a Winners-Take-All Match at SummerSlam 2008 (8/17/08)

Title Defenses: Candice Michelle (Pinfall Win), Mickie James (2x; Pinfall Wins), 

Next Title Defense: Against Melina at the Royal Rumble (1/25/09)


World Tag Team Champions: ECW’s The Miz (1st Reign) & John Morrison (1st Reign)

Defeated: RAW’s CM Punk & Kofi Kingston on 12/13/08 at a WWE Live Event

Title Defenses: CM Punk & Kofi Kingston (Pinfall Win), 

Next Title Defense: Unknown




WWE Champion: Jeff Hardy (1st Reign)

Defeated: Edge (c) & Triple H in a Triple Threat Match at Armageddon 2008 (12/14/08)

Title Defenses: None

Next Title Defense: Against Edge at the Royal Rumble (1/25/09)


United States Champion: Shelton Benjamin (1st Reign)

Defeated: ECW’s Matt Hardy at The Great American Bash 2008 (7/20/08)

Title Defenses: Jeff Hardy (DQ Loss), R-Truth (2x; Pinfall Wins), Hurricane Helms (Pinfall Win),

Next Title Defense: Unknown


Divas Champion: Maryse (1st Reign)

Defeated: Michelle McCool (with Maria as Special Guest Referee) on 12/26/08’s SmackDown

Title Defenses: None

Next Title Defense: Against Michelle McCool


WWE Tag Team Champions: Primo (1st Reign) & Carlito (1st Reign)

Defeated: Curt Hawkins & Zack Ryder on 9/26/08’s SmackDown

Title Defenses: Curt Hawkins & Zack Ryder (Pinfall Win), The Brian Kendrick & Ezekiel Jackson (Pinfall Win), 

Next Title Defense: Unknown




ECW Champion: Jack Swagger (1st Reign)

Defeated: Matt Hardy on 1/13/09’s ECW

Title Defenses: None

Next Title Defense: Against Matt Hardy



Shelton Benjamin is the longest reigning champion in the WWE at the moment, having held the United States Title for just under six months.